Discovery Center


The Discovery Center Authority is committed to maintaining a collaborative approach to developing the Center. Below is a list of our Partners and Endorsers. Organizational affiliations are provided for identification purposes only.

Elected Officals

Ian Calderon, Assemblymember, 57th District
Congresswoman Linda Sanchez, 38th District
Ed Chau, Assemblymember, 49th District
Ed Hernandez, State Senator, 24th District
Kevin de León, State Senator, 22nd District
Fran Pavley, State Senator, 27th District
Mark Ridley-Thomas, LA County Supervisor, 2nd District
Ricardo Lara, State Senator, 33rd District
Roger Hernandez, Assemblymember, 48th District
Anthony Rendon, Assemblymember, 63rd District
Tony Mendoza, State Senator, 32nd District
Monica Garcia, Boardmember, LAUSD, 2nd District
Zev Yarovslavsky, LA County Supervisor, 3rd District
Michael D. Antonovich, LA County Supervisor, 5th Dist.
Andre Quintero, Mayor, City of El Monte
Norma Macias, Councilmember, City of El Monte
Victoria Martinez, Councilmember, City of El Monte
Brent A. Tercero, Mayor, City of Pico Rivera
Salvador Ramirez, Boardmember, El Monte Union HSD
Mike Eng, Trustee, Los Angeles Community College Dist.
Robert Gonzales, Councilmember, City of Azusa
Susan Rubio, Councilmember, City of Baldwin Park
Xilonin Cruz-Gonzalez, President, Azusa USD
Jose Huizar, LA City Councilmember, 14th District
Gloria Molina, LA County Supervisor, 1st District – retired
Luis Marquez, Mayor, City of Downey
John Fasana, Councilmember, City of Duarte
Mary Ann Lutz, Mayor, City of Monrovia
Gilbert Cedillo, Councilmember, 1st District, City of LA

City Councils

South El Monte
El Monte
City of Industry
Temple City
La Puente
Monterey Park

Community, Water, Environmental & Public Health Leaders

Claire Robinson, Amigos de los Rios
Danny Oaxaca, San Gabriel Valley Conservation Corps
Julia Bogany, Gabrielino/Tongva of San Gabriel Valley
Bruce Saito, Los Angeles Conservation Corps
Ruskin Hartley, Heal the Bay
Irene Redondo-Churchward, Spiritt Family Services, SGV
Liz Crosson, Los Angeles Waterkeeper
Damon Nagami, Natural Resources Defense Council
Adrian Martinez, Earth Justice
Irene Portillo, Project Amiga, So. El Monte
Colin Bailey, Environmental Justice Coalition for Water
Darryl Molina Sarmiento, Communities for a Better Environment
San Gabriel Basin Water Quality Authority
Raul Macias, Anahuak Youth Sports Association, LA
San Gabriel Valley Water Association
Alina Bokde, Los Angeles Neighborhood Land Trust
Joe Edmiston, Santa Monica Mountains Conservancy
David McNeill, Baldwin Hills Conservancy
Miguel Luna, Urban Semillas
Gary Lawson-West Covina Chamber of Commerce
Tracy Drake, Madrona Marsh Preserve & Nature Center
Alfredo Gonzalez, The Nature Conservancy
Jodi Delaney, Trust for Public Land
Andy Lipkis, TreePeople
Rotary Club of Industry Hills – Board of Directors
Graciela Cabello, Latino Outdoors
Vincent Chang, Bike San Gabriel Valley
Omar Bronson, LA River Revitalization Corporation
Patricia Ochoa, Coalition for Clean Air
Tommy Randle, Black American Political Association
Elizabeth Goldstein, California State Parks Foundation
Mavis Hansen, SGV Dist. of Women’s Clubs
Eric Bruins, Los Angeles County Bike Coalition
El Monte Jets, SGVJAAFA
Mark Masaoka, Asian Pacific Planning and Policy Council
Veronica Padilla, Pacoima Beautiful
Jerilyn Lopez Mendoza, Southern California Gas Co.
Glen Dake, Dake Luna Landscape Architects
Jane Paul, Antioch University, Urban Sustainability Dept.
Doug Carstens, Chatten-Brown and Carstens
Manal Aboelata, Prevention Institute
Elsa Barboza, SCOPE
Isela Garcian, East Los Angeles Community Corporation
Jessica Meany, Safe Routes to School National Partnership
James Rojas, Latino Urban Forum


Roberto A. Martinez, Superintendent, ESC East, LAUSD
Debra Kaplan, Superintendent, West Covina USD
Oscar Cisneros, Principal, South El Monte High School
Marcos Aguilar, Academia Semillas del Pueblo Elementary, Los Angeles
Juan Muñoz, Principal, Wilkerson Elementary, El Monte
Berenice Rios, Principal, Torch Middle School, La Puente
Alicia Aceves, Principal, Andrews Elementary, Whittier
Reanna Mendoza, Principal, Mill Elementary, Whittier
Shanonn Brann Zelaya, Principal, Los Nietos MS, Whittier
Hector Galicia, Principal, Hollencrest MS, West Covina
Sonia Gonzalez, Principal, Merlinda Elem., West Covina
Jeffrey S. Schwartz, Principal, Montebello High School
Rich Nambu, Principal, Walnut Grove Inter., West Covina
Cinzia Fissore, PhD, Professor, Whittier College
Gabriel Griego, Principal, Bassett High School, La Puente
Luis Lopez, Principal, Wilson High School, Los Angeles
Jose Huerta, Principal, Garfield High School, Los Angeles
Francis Gipson, Principal, El Sereno MS, Los Angeles
Teresita Saracho de Palma, Principal, Farmdale Elem, LA
Gregory Jackson, Principal, Civitas HS, Los Angeles
Patricia Heideman, Principal, Nightingale MS, LA
Rosa Trujillo, Principal, Berendo MS, Los Angeles

School Boards

El Monte Union High School District
El Monte City School District
Rio Hondo Community College District
Garvey School District
Hacienda La Puente Unified School District
Azusa Unified School District
Alhambra Unified School District,

Boys and Girls Clubs

Anna Araujo, B&G Club of East Los Angeles
Maria Casteneda, E. Valley B&G Club, Baldwin Park
Charles Karsch, East Valley B&G Club, La Puente
Amy Borton, B&G Club of the Foothills, Pomona
Nancy Reyes, B&G Club of Pomona Valley, Monrovia
Frank Reyes, B&G Club of West SGV, Mont. Park
Patricia Sequeiros, Variety B&G Club, Los Angeles